A Letter From No…

20140528-164858-60538221.jpg

The above letter was sent to me via Twitter earlier today, by a ‘No’ voter I first encountered, and enjoyed chatting with, yesterday.

Due to the chronic character limits on Twitter, I’ve decided to use this blog as a means of putting my two pence worth in.

It’s no secret that I am planning to vote yes for independence, but for me the vote isn’t just a political one. I’m not voting ‘Yes’ just to rid myself or Scotland of David Cameron or the Tories, because no one can say with 100% certainty that in the future the people of Scotland won’t vote for a Tory government themselves at some point.

For me, It’s not all about the Tories or David Cameron, and it certainly isn’t all about the SNP or Alex Salmond – it’s about the fact that I believe Scotland, with its 5.4million people, should be a sovereign country in its own right and not an appendage of the United Kingdom.

I have to laugh here! My brain is having an off day and the word appendage suddenly looked very strange, so I highlighted the word in order to get its definition for clarity and this is what I was faced with.

20140528-165149-60709038.jpg

I’ve written blogs previously stating that I am by no means naive enough to believe that by simply voting for independence it automatically puts right everything that is currently wrong or unjust in our society. By crossing the box beside yes, we aren’t going to wake up on the 19th September to a new and improved Scotland; but we shall be on what I believe is the right path to creating a fairer society and country for those of us who currently live here and for future generations who are either born here or choose to call Scotland ‘home’.

What is so wrong about that? What is it about having that aspiration for your own country that is so ridiculous and laughable?

I don’t believe in “thinking small”THINK BIG and take small steps in order to get there, is a much preferred option for me. Think about the bigger and wider picture, think of how we can improve what we currently have, and how we can make those improvements even better for the future.

The author of the letter speaks about the lack of NHS and comprehensive education when his father was born, and how these “transitional policy” issues, and similar, which surround the independence debate shouldn’t be used when making your decision on how to vote. I disagree, because when it comes to the policies of free healthcare and free higher education, I believe these matters shouldn’t be mere policy dictated by the whim of Government but a fundamental right instead.

I don’t want to live in a country where people might have to choose between putting food on the table that night or paying for a sick family members’ hospital visit.

I don’t want to live in a country where only the rich might have access to good education, or where young adults have amassed large tuition debts before their careers and lives have even begun.

“Don’t upend 300+ years of history just to achieve a subtle leftward shift”

History has no place in this debate for me personally, and I find history a bizarre reason for voting no. I went to a debate where the Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson was speaking, and she kept bringing up our shared history with the rest of the United Kingdom, and what a shame it would be to walk away from that. How can you become a progressive and forward looking country if you’re always looking backwards and letting past achievements stop you from attaining future achievements? Independence doesn’t erase history, that history has been well documented and shall always be remembered.

And who is to say the shift in Scottish politics post independence will be a subtle one? We could see a dramatic shift in the political landscape of Scotland after independence, but whatever happens it will be the people of Scotland who decide the future, and that is the point.

It’s difficult to construct an argument for independence without being political, because life is political, and our entire lives are dictated by policy and politics. It would be like asking someone to construct an argument for breathing without mentioning oxygen.

I’m voting yes because I believe that the Scottish people and the Scottish government should have full control of our own affairs.

I’m voting yes because I do not like the direction the UK is heading in, and haven’t for a long time.

I’m voting yes because I do believe things can be better if we all work hard to create and achieve, and because I have heard no reasonable argument from the current UK Government or its opposition as to how they propose to change and improve Scotland.

I’m voting yes because I believe that we should take responsibility for ourselves – It’s time to cut the apron strings.


” Scotland is a great country and will remain so regardless of how we vote in September”

Yes it is and so it shall, and I for one have plans to do my bit to work towards a better Scotland regardless of the outcome.

What will you be doing?

I also have to wonder why the author of this letter opens with the statement that he shall vote yes if someone can convince him that an independent Scotland can prosper – Dear Liam, why are you waiting to be convinced of Scotland’s future prosperity by someone else? Surely the onus is on you and you alone to research the pros and cons and come to your own conclusion.

10 thoughts on “A Letter From No…

  1. Yet again, another great blog and the dictionary definition of “appendage” is so appropriate! You have also written so well about not always looking backwards but progressing forward. Thank you and I look forward to many more of your musings 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nail hit squarely on head how most Yes voters feel. No doubt the United Kingdom did great things through history but in reality we have grown apart since 1979. It’s run it’s course and it’s time for an amicable split.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It’s funny to me how many Labour supporters who are pro-union, don’t realise that Labour when it was founded, was pro-home rule for Scotland.
    I feel the same as you, that we CAN go it alone, and I really hope that people will realise that and vote YES.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. May I say that you have put into words what I believe. I do not know how many times on the “national newspapers” I told people that this Independence thing had nothing to do with ridding ourselves of the Tories, or for that matter the English. It is the small matter of self determination. We all see what needs to be done in Scotland, the improvement in democracy is one of them. I was in Denmark last year and standing outside their Parliament Building the guide said when there were problems the Danes popped over and stood outside to pass the message on. That is the benefit of being in a small country.
    There are other things which your correspondent overlooked, regardless of politics, which is the means that countries achieve things, important things like transport and the social fabric of the country, there is cohesiveness something I have never found outside of Scotland which is something that every person in Scotland has in bucket loads right now and something I see continuing.
    I do not see the NHS Scotland as transient, but I look at it in a different way from you complacent correspondent. I see it as a way that we can all have a proper health service, not something which is open to those able to pay and then there is a second rate service for those who cannot pay.
    Having lost my Mother to TB thanks to the lack of proper care before the setting up of the NHS I know we need to keep it.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comments Helena.

      We definitely need to protect our NHS, it’s of vital importance that we are able to keep it as a fully public service and not be forced to carve it up and sell it off in chunks to the highest bidder as we sadly see happening South of the border.

      I just do not see how that will be possible in the coming years if we stay as part of the UK, and have our public spending dictated by Westminster.

      Like

  5. “he shall vote yes if someone can convince him that an independent Scotland can prosper”

    Does he not believe David Cameron: “Of course Scotland can be a sucessful independant nation, no-one is saying [that it can’t be]”

    Like

  6. Good stuff. Funnily enough that ‘No’ letter is about as articulate an exposition of the unionist case I have seen – and still it’s just not good enough. “Would those advocating [independence] have walked away from Aneurin Bevan too?” No, we’d have said, “That’s a bloody good idea, Nye, let’s do that in an independent Scotland too.” Just as we can look to Scandinavia or other small nations to see how they can think much bigger than the retarded conservatism of Westminster. We can look anywhere for ideas that will make Scotland a better place – if we have the freedom to do so.

    It’s not about the past, it’s about the future. It’s not about thinking small, it’s about thinking ahead. It’s not about pooling resources, it’s about managing your own. It’s not about subsidy, it’s about responsibility. It’s not about England, it’s about Scotland.

    Like

Leave a Reply

